top of page
Daisy Hargreaves

Glee: My Ultimate Escape

Sitting down to write this article and merely typing the title above, I begin to question my decision. Should I really advocate one of the most controversial and cringe-worthy television series as my ultimate method of escapism (second only to re-watching old One Direction music videos at 4 am)? However, my 6-hour long Glee playlist brings me back to my senses and reminds me of my mission. In the words of the insane mash-up of It’s My Life by Bon Jovi and Usher’s Confessions, ‘it’s my life, it’s now or never, I ain’t gonna live forever, I just gotta…’.

It was a dark day in May. Stressed by looming exams and deflated by the lack of cheese in my fridge, I gave in. I regressed back to my 10-year-old self who sat cross-legged on the carpet with my parents dozing off behind me and was consumed by the magical jukebox musical sensation that is Glee and started to re-watch it from the beginning. Since its death in 2015, the series has been shrouded in controversy and shame and, with the advent of Mr. Schu memes on TikTok, fear. It must be mentioned that the cast of Glee is cursed. Three key members have died prematurely under tragic, accidental and criminal circumstances. With the advantage/disadvantage of hindsight, age and maturity (?), I was unsure of how I would react to the show a second time. However, I found that Glee stands apart despite my indecision on whether you can separate the art from the artist.


The series explores sexuality in such an accepting and frank manner, granting narrative space to gay, lesbian, and bisexual experiences in all their glorious variety. Speaking at the GLAAD memorial event for Naya Rivera, Demi Lovato said: ‘[The character] Santana Lopez was ground-breaking for closeted queer girls like I was at the time. Her ambition and accomplishments inspired Latina women all over the world. That’s the power of a show like Glee.’ Considering the pilot aired in 2009, the diverse cast catalysed conversations of gender and sexuality with its questioning characters and challenging writing.


For many, its style is the most jarring element. Glee creators, Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk of American Horror Story fame, fostered a ‘fuck-it’ attitude. Most episodes include up to 10 different choreographed musical numbers from a variety of genres and eras. They manipulate traditional television conventions in the most accessible demonstration of the philosophy of camp I’ve ever experienced.

Of course, the show is anything but perfect. The way it tackles certain taboo topics certainly wouldn’t fly in today’s creative climate. For example, in Season 1, a character is criticised for faking a verbal stutter, thus mimicking disability, by an able-bodied actor playing someone confined to a wheelchair. However, it is the show’s trademark balancing of moral dubiousness with foot-stomping, finger-snapping, and shouty-shouty scream songs that keeps me coming back for more. I justify this by maintaining a constant critical eye, following Sue Sylvester, the iconic villainous cheerleading coach. She keeps the show in check with her wit and venomous remarks on its plot-holes, narrative hypocrisy, and general ridiculousness. One of my Top 10 ridiculous Glee moments (yes, I have a list), is the incredible birth scene cut with an electric performance of Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody by Johnathan Groff (the ‘Do not let me go’ lines are harmonised with the screams of a teenager in labour…genius).


As I approach the end of my re-watch, I am overcome with not only a sense of accomplishment (6 seasons in 3 weeks) but also optimism. Yes, the Glee universe is absurd, grotesque, and most certainly problematic at times. Yet, it ultimately promotes optimism, acceptance, and the confidence to chase your dreams (albeit through song… but you get the point). If that doesn’t interest you, just think of all the celebrity guests: Neil Patrick Harris, Idina Menzel, Britney (IT’S BRITNEY BITCH), Olivia Newton John and Gwyneth Paltrow (who knew she could, like, sing sing? Her cover of Fleetwood Mac’s Landslide will never fail to bring a tear to my eye and make me call my mum). When I watch Glee, I escape to a realm where my dreams are possible, where I could waltz into a room and perform a flawless harmony with a guy I just met, and somehow afford an unreasonably large loft apartment in Bushwick through the sheer effervescent force of my ambition alone. Listen kids if you’re feeling low, watch Glee and, remember, don’t stop believin’.

62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page