top of page
Seána Johansson-Keys

The Edge of Innocence: Reflecting on 'Normal People' (2020)

I enjoyed the TV adaptation of Sally Rooney’s best-selling novel Normal People as much as the next person. I slouched down on my sofa during the first national lockdown and settled in to cry about Connell and Marianne’s tempestuous relationship and lives. A lot of tears were shed. Almost everyone I spoke to had watched it and loved it and been moved by it just as I had been. However, after almost a year since its release and having recently read the book, I have started to reflect on it more objectively, and I have come to the conclusion that it was overrated.


Now, before I proceed, I want to say that something can be overrated, but still be very good, even brilliant. So, whilst I do think that Normal People was overrated, that is not to say that I don’t think it is a good show. If you haven’t watched it, I highly recommend it — go watch it now (especially if you don’t want it to be spoiled for you, as there are spoilers ahead).

I want to comment on how there were multiple aspects of the show which were cliché. Most notably, the power dynamic between Marianne and Connell, especially at the beginning.So many romances have evolved between one rich person and one poor; or one popular and one unpopular; or even one in a loving family and one in an unloving one. If you have seen or read Normal People you’ll know that all of these binary opposite characteristics are used to create different power imbalances between the two protagonists. Although the popular/unpopular dynamic shifts and becomes more nuanced when the two attend Trinity College, it still feels like a reused plot device to show how the two characters are different on the surface but have a deeper inner connection which we, the audience, are invited to explore. Scenes in which these power dynamics were heightened tended to be the most clichéd and predictable. Although I cried and cried when Connell comes and takes Marianne away after Alan breaks her nose, I felt this was something I’d seen so many times before. However, can I really criticize it when it made me feel so much? I suppose we do love clichés, and, perhaps, they can be forgiven when they are so incredibly acted and well-written.


The characters' innocence, coming from their age and inexperience, is snugly inviting. It almost feels as though their love is simple and innocent but exterior factors taint it, whether it's immaturity and wanting to fit in with your social circle, or even self-destruction. Perhaps that is what makes it so heart-wrenching when things don’t work out for them. However, in contrast to this innocence, there is an edge - a darkness to the woes of the characters and the struggles they face. The abuse that Marianne suffers at the hands of her family and the depression Connell deals with are both good examples. Again, it feels as though they deserve things to go right for them, but things never do.

The other aspect of “edge” I want to comment on is the inclusion of very graphic sex scenes. I still don’t know quite how I feel about them. On the one hand, you could argue that it is just being faithful to the book, but it could also just be seen as gratuitous nudity and sex. Were they trying to add in the sex appeal to increase intrigue and viewing numbers? I can’t say. But it harshly clashes with seeing the pair in a school setting. I know they are adults for most of the show but I couldn’t help but feel uncomfortable and wonder what the motives were for including such graphic scenes.


In regards to when the show came out, I don’t think it was popular simply because everyone was stuck at home and had nothing to do except for watching hours of TV. I think it would have been popular regardless of the release date because it is such a well-crafted and emotive show. Being released during the lockdown simply meant that everyone watched it at the same time and so it was talked about continuously.


The story of Connell and Marianne is in some ways timeless, and in some ways clichéd, but if it is enjoyable, then what is the harm in it not being completely original? I only think it means it is overrated, but again that doesn’t detract from its quality. To conclude, I want to comment on when Connell doesn’t invite Marianne to the debs because it has stuck with me for so long. Objectively sadder and worse things take place, but this made me feel the worst. I think that the innocence really shines through here, and makes it all the more heartbreaking.

17 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page